AIA announces recipients of 2017 architecture awards

by Brianna Crandall — February 1, 2017 — The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has selected the 2017 recipients of several prestigious architecture awards that will be honored at the AIA Conference on Architecture 2017 in Orlando. The winners of the awards, which recognize excellence in various aspects of architecture, interior architecture, and regional and urban design, are listed below.

2017 Institute Honor Awards for Architecture

  • Aspen Art Museum; Aspen, CO; Shigeru Ban Architects; Associate Firm: CCY Architects
  • Carmel Place; New York City, NY; nARCHITECTS
  • Carnegie Hall Studio Towers Renovation Project; New York City, NY; Iu + Bibliowicz Architects LLP
  • The Cotton Gin at the CO-OP District; Hutto, TX; Antenora Architects LLP
  • Grace Farms; New Canaan, CT; SANAA; Associate Firm: Handel Architects
  • Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts; Chicago, IL; Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects | Partners; Associate Firm: Holabird & Root
  • St. Ann’s Warehouse; Brooklyn, NY; Marvel Architects
  • The Six Affordable Veteran Housing; Los Angeles, CA; Brooks + Scarpa
  • Stanford University Central Energy Facility; Stanford, CA; ZGF Architects LLP
  • THREAD: Artists’ Residency and Cultural Center; Sinthain, Senegal; Toshiko Mori Architect
  • Yale Center for British Art Building Conservation Project; New Haven, CT; Knight Architecture

2017 Institute Honor Awards for Interior Architecture

  • 30 Rockefeller Plaza: 65th Floor, Rainbow Room, SixtyFive; New York City, NY; Gabellini Sheppard Associates; Associate Firm: Montroy Andersen DeMarco
  • General Motors Design Auditorium; Detroit, MI; SmithGroupJJR
  • George Washington University, Milken Institute School of Public Health; Washington, DC; Payette; Associate Firm: Ayers Saint Gross
  • In Situ; San Francisco, CA; Aidlin Darling Design
  • Pinterest Headquarters; San Francisco, CA; IwamotoScott Architecture with Brereton Architects
  • University of Massachusetts (UMass) Dartmouth, Claire T. Carney Library; Dartmouth, MA; designLAB architects; Associate Firm: Austin Architects
  • Writers Theatre; Glencoe, IL; Studio Gang

2017 Institute Honor Awards for Regional and Urban Design

  • Cleveland Civic Core; Cleveland, OH; LMN Architects
  • Philadelphia 30th Street Station District Plan; Philadelphia, PA; Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, LLP
  • Reinventing Vilonia; Vilonia, AR; UA Community Design Center
  • Regeneración: A vision for the campus and district of the Tecnologico de Monterrey, Mexico; Monterrey, Mexico; Sasaki Associates
  • Rock Chapel Marine; Chelsea, MA; Landing Studio

AIA Twenty-five Year Award

2017 Collaborative Achievement Award

2017 AIA Thomas Jefferson Award

More information about the architecture awards can be found on the AIA Honors & Awards Web site. Click on the links above for details and photos of the specific award winners.