If you’re looking for a top-notch landscape architecture firm, find out who won the 2017 ASLA awards

by Brianna Crandall — September 8, 2017 — The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has just announced its 38 Professional Award recipients for 2017. Selected from 465 entries, the awards recognize the best of landscape architecture in the general design, analysis and planning, communications, research, and residential design categories from around the United States and the world.

In addition to the Professional Awards winners, ASLA announced the 28 winners of its 2017 Student Awards. Selected from 295 entries representing 52 schools, the awards honor the top work of landscape architecture students in the USA and around the world.

The winners will receive their awards at the ASLA Annual Meeting and Expo in Los Angeles on October 23.

People sitting at tables under trees and lights

Klyde Warren Park’s shady oak grove and chandeliers establish a strong architectural rhythm and buffer the interior of the park from the adjacent streets.

The 2017 Award of Excellence winners are listed below. The complete Professional Awards list is available online.

General Design Category

Award of Excellence: Klyde Warren Park — Bridging the Gap in Downtown Dallas, Dallas, TX; by OJB Landscape Architecture for the Woodall Rodgers Park Foundation

Analysis and Planning Category

Award of Excellence: Storm + Sand + Sea + Strand — Barrier Island Resiliency Planning for Galveston Island State Park, Galveston, TX; by Studio Outside for the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Communications Category

Award of Excellence: Digital Library of Landscape Architecture History; by Benjamin George, ASLA

Research Category

Award of Excellence: Fluid Territory: A Journey into Svalbard, Norway; by Kathleen John-Alder, ASLA, Rutgers University, Tromsø Academy

Residential Design Category

Award of Excellence: Birmingham Residence, San Francisco, CA; by Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture for Linda Dresner

The Landmark Award

The J. Paul Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA; by OLIN for the J. Paul Getty Trust

The complete list of the 2017 Professional Awards is available on the ASLA Web site, along with awards criteria, project information and images. The complete list of 2017 Student Awards is also available, along with related information.

The September issue of Landscape Architecture Magazine (LAM) featuring the winning projects is also available free after setting up a digital subscription account online.

Founded in 1899, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) is the professional association for landscape architects in the United States, representing more than 15,000 members. The Society’s mission is to advance landscape architecture through advocacy, communication, education and fellowship. Sustainability has reportedly been part of ASLA’s mission since its founding and is an overarching value that informs all of the Society’s programs and operations. ASLA has demonstrated the benefits of green infrastructure and resilient development practices through the creation of its own green roof, co-development of the SITES Rating System, and the creation of publicly accessible sustainable design resources (scroll down to the “Sustainable Design Resources” section).